You want to use good solid sources and citations for your research or paper, but where do you go to get the information that need? Of course the best place to search is the library! Since at least 2600 BC Libraries have been repositories of knowledge. In Nineveh, in about 700 BC libraries started working on classification systems to catalog the information they possessed. Through the centuries the cataloging, indexing, and classifying of information has distilled down to into what we now use in the form of databases.
In our great age of information, databases are all around us. The most popular databases people are familiar with are the ones we use to search the internet to find video of cats, or the best place to eat dinner. Google, Yahoo, Bing, Yelp, Craigslist, and even some ecommerce web sites are examples of popular databases. Your surely may find instances that you might want to cite these popular sources, but for good solid citation from peer reviewed sources, you will likely need to search academic databases that are found in the library.
Public libraries, academic libraries, medical libraries, law libraries, and corporate libraries subscribe to a variety of databases. As a student you’ll pay for the use of a database with your tuition, and as a tax payer you will pay for access to the database through the funding of the public library. You pay for these services regardless if you use them or not. So, I suggest that go to your school or public library and take advantage of these powerful tools.
Tables, records, rows, fields, and columns.
Boolean operators are used to connect multiple concepts or search terms in one search statement. An example would be: literature and (analysis or criticism)
second creation (title) AND janus and able (author) AND 2010 (year)
Databases follow commands you type in and return results based on those commands. Be aware of the logical order in which words are connected when using Boolean operators:
"Databases are designed to offer an organized mechanism for storing, managing and retrieving information. They do so through the use of tables." - about.com
Root words that have multiple endings. Example: sun = suns, sunshine, sunny, sunlight Words that are spelled differently, but mean the same thing. Example: color, colour Truncation/wildcard symbols vary by database. Check the help screens to find out which symbols are used.